Small Cap Awards 2019 – Nominations Press Release

Press Release: London, UK

April 2019

Small Cap Awards


British household name and well-known businessman Nick Leeson is this year’s keynote speaker at awards ceremony

The Small Cap Awards is an annual opportunity to recognise outstanding achievement focused on smaller quoted companies.

The Awards ceremony, which this year will take place on 26 June at the Montcalm Hotel in Central London, shines a light on the best companies and participants in the small and micro-cap community (sub £100m market capitalisation) across nine categories. The keynote speech at the ceremony will be given by Nick Leeson, whose rogue trading caused the collapse of Barings Bank.

Since it started in mid-2012, the Small Cap Club has successfully enabled leaders and participants in the micro-cap sector to meet regularly, based on the premise that meeting people builds trust and creates new areas of thinking and opportunity, and the regular networking events have gone from strength to strength.

This year the Small Cap Awards is delighted to announce headline partnership with Project Heather.

Tomás Carruthers, Founder and CEO of Project Heather, said:

“We are delighted to be supporting this event as we work towards launching our own stock exchange built on impact principles. The small cap universe is incredibly important to the economy and we hope the launch of a new exchange will encourage more businesses to join it and realise their plans and ambitions through a listing.”

In addition, the event is co-sponsored by the highly respected commercial law firm Hamlins LLP and the Top 20 national audit and accountancy firm UHY Hacker Young. This year the NEX Exchange Company of the Year award is sponsored by NEX Exchange. The awards are organised by London event and network agency Lily & Piper.

The nominations have been selected by a judging panel comprised of leaders in the Small Cap sector and is Chaired by Claire Noyce, Managing Partner at Hybridan LLP.

IPO of the Year

Aquis Exchange Plc

Cake Box Holdings Plc

Litigation Capital Management Limited

The Panoply Holdings Plc

Manolete Partners Plc

Crossword Cybersecurity Plc

Company of the Year

I3 Energy Plc

Beeks Financial Cloud Group Plc

CREO Medical Group Plc

Scientific Digital Imaging Plc

Water Intelligence Plc

Frontier IP Group Plc

Executive Director of the Year

Amanda Mesler, CEO – Earthport Plc

Gordon McArthur, CEO – Beeks Financial Cloud Group Plc

Ian Fishwick, Chairman – AdEPT Technology Group Plc

Mike Creedon, CEO – Scientific Digital Imaging Plc

Steve McQuillan, CEO  Avingtrans Plc

Simon Stilwell, CEO – Bonhill Group Plc

Impact Company of the Year

Kromek Group Plc

Yourgene Health Plc

Inspiration Healthcare Group Plc

Walls and Futures REIT Plc

Nanoco Group Plc

MYCELX Technologies Corporation

Analyst of the Year

Peter McNally, Technology, Panmure Gordon & Co

Kartik Swaminathan, Arden Partners Plc

Nick Spoliar, Support Services, WH Ireland Limited

Jonathan Barrett, Media, N+1 Singer

George O’Connor, Technology, Stifel Nicolaus Europe Limited

Jeremy Grime, Financials, Charlton Illingworth

Journalist of the Year

Paul Scott – Stockopedia

Emily Nicolle – City AM

Simon Thompson – Investors Chronicle

Jamie Nimmo – Mail on Sunday

Joanne Hart – Mail on Sunday

Mark Shapland – Evening Standard Small Cap Spotlight

Fund Manager of the Year

Seneca Growth Capital VCT PLC

Liontrust UK Micro Cap

Gresham House UK Micro Cap

Octopus UK Micro Cap Growth

Amati UK Smaller Companies

Marlborough Nano Cap Growth

NEX Exchange Company of the Year

National Milk Records Plc

Sativa Investments Plc

NQ Minerals Plc

Walls and Futures REIT Plc

Chapel Down Group Plc

DXS International Plc

Lifetime Achievement Award

To be announced on the evening.

The winners in each category will be announced on Wednesday 26th June at a black tie event held at The Montcalm Hotel, Marble Arch, 2, Wallenberg Place, Marylebone, London, W1H 7TN and will celebrate success for UK listed Small Caps.

Peter Dickson, a British voice-over artist best known as the voice of E4, and the brand voice of The X Factor, Britain’s Got Talent,  will return for the seventh year to host the event.

This year’s Keynote Speaker will be Nick Leeson, a British household name and a well-known businessman. He is also a name associated with arguably the biggest financial scandal of the 20th century.  The original Rogue Trader whose unchecked risk-taking and drive for success caused the collapse of Barings Bank which in turn put Nick in a Singapore Jail for 4 years.

The event will be attended by institutions, fund managers, brokers, company directors, entrepreneurs and advisors, creating a chance for all attendees to network with those who have shown exceptional growth and performance in the small cap environment over the last year.

The nominations have been selected by a judging panel comprised of leaders in the Small Cap sector and is Chaired by Claire Noyce, Managing Partner at Hybridan LLP.

The judging panel consists of:

(Chair) Claire Noyce

(Managing Partner and Chief Executive at Hybridan

Judith Mackenzie

Partner & Head of Public Equity at Downing

Dale Bellis

Investment Director (AIM) at Maven Capital Partners UK LLP

David Coffman

Corporate Finance Director at Cairn Financial Advisers

Gervais Williams

Managing Director at Miton Group plc

Miles Nolan

Associate Director at IFC Advisory

Richard Gill

Head of Research at Align Research

Connor Grimes, CFA

Investment Manager at Seneca Growth Capital VCT

Dominic Weller

Fund Manager at Octopus Investments

Guy Feld

Fund Manager at Canaccord Genuity


Notes to Editors

The seventh annual Small Cap Awards will take place from 18.30 on Wednesday 26 June 2019 at The Montcalm Hotel in Marble Arch, London. A standard table for 10 is priced at £1500+VAT to include a champagne reception, three course dinner and wine.

Individual tickets are available for £200 +VAT

Twitter @sce_club #smallcap2019

For more information contact:

Sponsorship and tables: [email protected]

Other queries: [email protected]

About the Sponsors:

About Project Heather

Project Heather is building a Scottish Stock Exchange for the 21st century – for those who believe in purpose as well as profit.  It will be the first regulated investment exchange to be focused on businesses that are making measurable positive social and environmental impact.

For more information, go to

About Hamlins LLP

Hamlins LLP is a commercial law firm renowned for its industry expertise, entrepreneurial approach, and quality lawyers who are recognised leaders in their fields. We have deep market knowledge of the media, digital, real estate, sport, retail and leisure industries.

For more information, go to

About UHY Hacker Young

The UHY Hacker Young Group is one of the UK’s Top 20 accountancy networks with more than 100 partners and 540 professional staff working from 23 locations around the country. The offices within the Group provide a wide range of audit, accounting and tax services, with a reputation for integrity and reliability within the financial community, and particularly with London’s Stock Markets. UHY Hacker Young are ranked 13th in the ARL Corporate Advisers Rankings Guide amongst other UK audit firms for advising London Stock Exchange listed companies.

UHY Hacker Young is a founder member of the UHY International network with more than 300 offices across 100 countries, with representation in all major financial centres.

For more information, go to

About Lily & Piper

Lily & Piper is an integrated event and branding agency, which specialises in placing brands in selected events around the UK, building campaigns and creating and developing niche networks.

Recent networks founded by the company include the Foreign Direct Investment Awards, Small Cap Network, Fast Growth Entrepreneurs and Impact Investor Club.

For more information, go to